IPL 2023 Orange Cap: Gill overtakes du Plessis during GT vs MI Qualifier 2

The IPL 2023 Orange Cap will be awarded to the player who finishes the season with the most runs. The Orange Cap is one of the iconic awards awarded by the organizers since their IPL inception in 2008.

Saudi Aramco sponsored the Orange Caps for IPL 2022, as it was the first time that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had a trusted partner for the Orange and Purple Caps.

Australian batsman Shaun Marsh won the Orange Cap in his IPL of 2008 with Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) where he scored 616 runs at a strike rate of 139.68 in 11 matches He became the first player to do so.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Virat Kohli, his IPL leading run scorer with 6624 runs, scored the most in a season (in 2016 he had 973 runs).

Kohli’s former RCB teammate Chris Gayle is the only player to hold an orange cap in the IPL, winning the orange cap in the 2011 (608 runs) and 2012 (733 runs) seasons. has been acquired.


Batter Matches Runs Average Strike Rate Highest Score
Shubman Gill (GT) 16 851 60.78 156.43 129
Faf du Plessis (RCB) 14 730 56.15 153.68 84
Virat Kohli (RCB) 14 649 53.25 139.82 101*
Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR) 14 625 48.08 163.61 124
Devon Conway (CSK) 15 625 52.08 137.06 92*

Orange Cap Rules for IPL 2023

  • The Orange Cap will be awarded to the player who has scored the most runs at the end of IPL 2033 including the playoffs.
  • As the season progresses, players at the top of the scoring list will be able to wear orange caps on the field.
    If multiple batters score the same score at the end of the season, the batter with the best strike his lay receives the Orange Cap.
  • Super over runs are not considered in the Orange Cap race.

What is the orange cap in IPL?

The Orange Cap is a special award given to the player who scores the most points in a season. The race for the Orange Cap begins after all participating teams have played at least one match in the tournament. The winner changes every new season.

Which player will win the orange cap in the IPL?

Most players start the tournament with a good performance for their team, but only those who can maintain a consistent performance There aren’t that many. The Orange Cap is an award given to players who score points throughout the season, not just in a few games. The player who outperforms the rest of the league and ranks first in the run-scoring charts receives an orange cap in the WPL.

How many Indians have won the orange cap in IPL?

He is the 5th Indian player to have won the orange cap in 15 seasons. Sachin Tendulkar (MI – 2010), Robin Uthappa (KKR – 2014), Virat Kohli (RCB – 2016), KL Rahul (KXIP – 2020) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK – 2021) will wear the orange cap. Here are five players who could be acquired.

What are the benefits of wearing an orange cap?

Players who win the orange cap at the end of the tournament will be in the spotlight at least next season. Players can also revive their international careers or further their national team goals.

Shaun Marsh makes his Australian debut following his performance in his first year. Even Robin Uthappa supported his case and was recalled from the Indian ODI team after a successful title-winning campaign with KKR.

Who is the first uncapped player to win the Orange Cap in IPL history?

Shaun Marsh is the only uncapped player from Punjab to win the Orange Cap in IPL 2008 He is a player. The left-handed batsman was only 24 years old when he won the Orange Cap.

Super Over Will his runs contribute to his orange cap?

Superover is done when two teams reach the same score at the end of a game of 40 overs. However, the runs scored by the batsmen will not be considered for the Orange Cap list and will not be counted towards the player’s IPL total runs.

Has anyone won both an orange cap and a purple cap?

Many great all-rounders have played in his IPL, but no player has done so well as to win the Orange His Cap and the Purple His Cap simultaneously in the same season.

Orange Who is the frontrunner to win his cap in IPL 2023?

England batsman Jos Buttler is the current holder of the Orange cap. The Rajasthan Royals opener scored 863 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 149.05, including a brilliant fourth century. Buttler remains the first choice to retain the Orange Cap, but the likes of KL Rahul, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, and Hardik Pandya will be in the challenge.


Year Player Team Runs Average Strike Rate 50 100 HS
2022 Jos Buttler RR 863 57.53 149.05 4 4 116
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad CSK 635 45.35 136.26 4 1 101*
2020 KL Rahul PBKS 670 55.83 129.34 5 1 132*
2019 David Warner SRH 692 69.20 143.87 8 1 100
2018 Kane Williamson SRH 735 52.50 142.44 8 0 84
2017 David Warner SRH 641 58.27 141.81 4 1 126
2016 Virat Kohli RCB 973 81.08 152.03 7 4 113
2015 David Warner SRH 562 43.23 156.54 7 0 91
2014 Robin Uthappa KKR 660 44.00 137.78 5 0 83
2013 Michael Hussey CSK 733 52.35 129.50 6 0 95
2012 Chris Gayle RCB 733 61.08 160.74 7 1 128
2011 Chris Gayle RCB 608 67.55 183.13 3 2 107
2010 Sachin Tendulkar MI 618 47.53 132.61 5 0 89
2009 Matthew Hayden CSK 572 52.00 144.81 5 0 89
2008 Shaun Marsh KXIP 616 68.44 139.68 5 1



1 thought on “IPL 2023 Orange Cap: Gill overtakes du Plessis during GT vs MI Qualifier 2”

Leave a Comment