Will MS Dhoni playing in IPL 2024? Chennai Super Kings retain their Captain

MS Dhoni – A name that cannot be easily forgotten by anyone in the world of cricket. MS Dhoni is known for his great achievements in cricket.

MS Dhoni’s popularity will always remain unparalleled in the history of the Indian Premier League. MS Dhoni has not only won his four IPL trophies (till 2022) but also carved his name in heights beyond his reach.

MS Dhoni Practicing for IPL 2023 in Chennai(Image: Twitter)
MS Dhoni Practicing for IPL 2023 in Chennai (Image: Twitter)


Will MS Dhoni play in IPL 2024

Chennai Super Kings announced the list of retained and released players ahead of the auction and confirmed MS Dhoni’s return for the upcoming Indian Premier League season.

There were some surprises when CSK let go of Ben Stokes along with Dwayne Pretorius, K. Bagasse Varma, Subhlanshu Senapati, Ambati Rayudu, Kyle Jamieson, Akash Singh, and Sisanda Magara. Notably, Jamison remained in the 2023 IPL but missed the season due to injury and Magala replaced him before being released.

Stokes’ release follows his record-breaking remuneration of Rs 1,625 crore just a year ago. The England all-rounder declined to participate in the IPL 2024 to cope with his workload and focused on his fitness ahead of the Test series against India before the IPL and the T20 World Cup.

Retained players include Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajvardhan Hangalgekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, and Mukesh. They include Chaudhary, Matisha Pathirana, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaikh Rashid, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet. Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, and Mahesh Teekshana.

CSK, who auctioned off Rs 321 crore, are looking to strengthen their team after releasing Rayudu, who retired after IPL 2023.

Dhoni’s return from knee surgery after IPL 2023 is encouraging for fans.

CSK defeated the Gujarat Titans in the 2023 final to win their fifth IPL title, equaling the Mumbai Indians’ record for most IPL titles.

LIST: Players retained by CSK

MS Dhoni Wicketkeeper
Ravindra Jadeja All-rounder
Devon Conway Batsman
Ruturaj Gaikwad Batsman
Subhranshu Senapati Batsman
Moeen Ali All-rounder
Shivam Dube Batting all-rounder
Rajvardhan Hangargekar Bowler
Mitchell Santner Bowler
Deepak Chahar Bowler
Tushar Deshpande Bowler
Matheesha Pathirana Bowler
Prashant Solanki Bowler
Mahesh Theekshana Bowler
Ajinkya Rahane Batsman
Shaik Rasheed Batsman
Nishant Sindhu All-rounder
Ajay Mandal All-rounder

1 thought on “Will MS Dhoni playing in IPL 2024? Chennai Super Kings retain their Captain”

Leave a Comment